General information

Pin It

42-25822038The Democritus University of Thrace was founded in June 1973 by means of Legislative Decree 87/27.71973 and began operating in the 1974-1975 academic year. It takes its name from Democritus, the ancient Greek philosopher who was born at the ancient city of Abdera in Thrace.

Administration of the Democritus University of Thrace is located in Komotini, capital city of the Region of Eastern Macedonia - Thrace. Today, the Democritus University of Thrace is comprised of two Faculties and eighteen Departments located in four cities; seven of those Departments are in Komotini, five in Xanthi, four in Alexandroupoli and two in Orestiada with a total student population of 19,000.

The Democritus University of Thrace plays a significant role in reinforcing the national and cultural identity of the area of Thrace. Thanks to the top class studies it provides, the quality of its teaching and excellent research conducted by its teaching and research staff, it has ensured a place for itself among the best universities in Greece.